QARANC Prospects

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by panther64, Aug 20, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi there

I'm an AGC (SPS) soldier looking at transferring to the QARANC as an Adult Health Nurse. I have a Business degree and have been recommended for commission; I am due to attend AOSB briefing in September. However, I have decided that I would like to commission into the QARANC.

To do this I understand I need a Nursing degree, which I do not have. Whilst I know that I can transfer to QARANC and do a 3yr Nursing course at Birmingham City University, what I would like to know is, will I be eligible to apply for a commission whilst at university or do i have to complete the course and serve for a minimum of two years as a registered nurse before i can be considered for a commission? I have read a number of posts that give contradicting information.

Also, what are the chances of getting on the course in April 2012 if I apply to transfer in November 2011? As much as I would like to apply now, I am due an SJAR in november and would rather wait till I get that as it will look good on my transfer application. I did speak to the SO3 Recruiting and she did say provided she received my application by mid January 2012, she could have me interviewed by Feb and on the course. I foolishly didnt ask if she meant the April or September course. Has anyone transferred recently? What did the process involve?

Also, I have loads of questions for current student nurses and serving nurses as I am keen to carry out extensive research prior to submitting my application in November. So if you are a Nurse, please do get in touch. I have heard that the competition is fierce, is there anything I can do in the meantime to improve my chances of being accepted?

2. why bother