Purple Service Numbers?

Discussion in 'The Intelligence Cell' started by Tartan_Terrier, Jan 2, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I just read this on Rum Ration, apologies if it has been posted before.

Anyone know if this is true?
  2. dont know but i was given my bloody number 14 years ago and im buggered if im gonna remember a new number just so it fits into a computer system better
  3. It's true, it's an 8 figure number starting in a 3, and you don't need to change your present number.
  4. BuggerAll

BuggerAll LE Reviewer Book Reviewer

Why don't we just use our National Insurance numbers? Why don't we use them for all our interactions with the Government? It seems bloody silly to me that I have a soldier's number, officer's number, NHS number, National Insurance number, an employee number when I worked as a civil servant, passport number etc so much for joined up government.
  5. Oh dear! I took a job as an RO in MOD that no-one else wanted.
    After a while I realised that I was the 'sponsor' for all kinds of things that nobody else wanted or understood. One of of these 'things' was Army Numbers. That is Army Numbers and not Regimental Numbers or Personal Numbers! Not long before I took this job (1986) the Royal Navy had just issued Personal Numbers to Naval officers for the first time! Imagine the fuss.
    Anyway, I discovered that all Army Numbers were controlled by one super civil servant based in a couple of rooms in Exeter. Blocks of numbers were issued to Manning Record Offices and subsequently allocated to individuals, Regular and TA etc upon enlistment.
    When the blocks had been issued the MROs sent the books back to Exeter for safe-keeping. A very good system. I discovered that my enlistment date was 22 Oct 61 and not 16 Oct 61 as I had always thought!