PTI with a degree

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by us_versus_them, Sep 28, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. im planning on re-enlisting into the regular army, and my ultimate goal is to reach PTI.
    im currently a fitness instructor and could very well be offered a chance to go university obviously studying strength and conditioning/coaching and fitness at the end of this acedemic year.
    do you reckon i would stand a better chance on becoming a PTI with a degree? (and also with the relevant fitness levels of course).
    Or does it just boil down to who has the biggest balls at the end of the day with this kind of thing?
    thanks for your time reading this lol :D

2. My, aren't we the amitious one?

3. "Those who can, do. Those who can't, teach. Those who can't teach, teach gym."

Where do you think PTI would fit in the above formulae?

4. lol PTI's can both teach and DO.... lol where did that little quote come from?

5. School of PT.

6. Nah, seriously though, (I had to say to put my last NAAFI-esque post in context! - Sorry for the jab, no offense intended!) the degree likely wouldn't hurt IMHO. It'd show you've got determination to see something through, which a lot of scruffy little fcukers these days don't. As to whether it'd realistically be an advantage to having one, well, I'm not qualified to really say as I'm a bleedin' colonial, see? Different system over here, and we've completely done away with our PERI's lock, stock and barrel, so to speak.

7. and PTI would sit in the "those who can, do" by the way i know how hard it is to become a PTI! the fitness is mind boggling haha

8. Me. Do try to keep up.

9. Get a PT degree and join the RAF or Navy as a PTI.

You can't join the Army as a PTI, you join another trade, get your APTI qual an dthen, maybe, go APTC.