Pte Cole

Discussion in 'Infantry' started by ben0239, Dec 23, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Below is a story of Luke Cole a guy from 4 mercians who served in Afghanistan recently. When i read this article it made me proud to be a member of the T.A. Knowing that we have got some excellent soldiers going on ops and performing well.

Get well soon Coley

Soldier Private Luke Cole today described how he lay wounded and helpless in an Afghanistan ‘killing area’ having been shot twice and holding a gun that had jammed.

The TA soldier, a forklift driver by trade, was eventually dragged to safety by two comrades following the terrifying night-time ambush by the Taliban.

Luke, who had volunteered to go on a six month tour with the Mercian Regiment, had emergency surgery in the field and a further seven operations after being flown to Birmingham’s Selly Oak Hospital.

His tale of incredible heroism under intense fire is testament to the actions of thousands of soldiers who will spend Christmas at war in Afghanistan and Iraq.

Luke, aged 22, of Wolverhampton, lost five inches of bone after being shot in the left thigh and was also hit in the right hip by a bullet that exited his body through the stomach. Two comrades were killed and six others wounded during the eight hour firefight with the Taliban three months ago.

He crawled back into the line of fire to tend to an injured colleague after being shot the first time and was hit again as he successfully battled to stop the Taliban snatching the body of a dead friend from the combat zone as a sick ‘trophy.’