Pseudo Ops and Counterinsurgency in Africa (Rhodesia and South Africa)

Discussion in 'Southern Africa' started by tjposhea, Aug 3, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi everyone I am a university student who is going to undertake my dissertation with the hope of joining the Army after attaining my degree. My dissertation subject is centred around counterinsurgency and I hope to focus on why the west/major nations fail to succeed in thes conflicts. I am looking to make the question more concise and focus on pseudo ops.

With Rhodesia being the archetypal example of pseudo ops I thought I would ask if anyone could reccomend texts to help me or if anyone on the forum actually took part in the Rhodesian bush war or the conflicts that south Africa and the old Portuguese colonies were involved in. I am lucky that my girlfriend is south African and her mum Rhodesian. Her uncle worked in special branch and worked closely with the selous scouts, he managed to overcome bad lung problems when he was a child to go and work in the bush for weeks on ends with some of those turned. Their family were also neighbours with Ian smith.

Any help would be very grateful, also if anyone has any books they are willing to sell I would be interested. I have bought the Barbara cole book on the sas and the selous scout top secret war at great expense, so if you have any available for a reasonable price I would be more than happy to buy them.

Ps, wrote this on my phone so I apologise for some of the awful grammar.

2. I have the same problem when I talk on the phone.

3. Schaden

Schaden LE Book Reviewer

Read Only my friends call me Crouks by Dennis Croukamp - he was probably the most experienced Selous Scout operator who wrote about the war - also Fireforce by Chris Cocks as well as Out of Action also by Cocks - it wasn't all beer and sunshine.