Prospects for a hopeful cripple?

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by jjc, Jan 4, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. jjc

jjc

Alright lads,

Great site, good to see the human side of the Army behind all the official MoD recruitment lingo. I'm currently an undergraduate student and recently I've seriously been considering joining the armed forces. At my university I've made friends who are a part of the University OTC and they have really inspired me to look into a career in the Army. Unfortunately I suffer from a mild physical disability which limits my walking (I'm not in a wheelchair or on crutches, but walking around isn't the easiest of things after a few hours) so this somewhat limits my chances. In light of this limitation I'm very keen on joining the Intelligence Corps if I can, though I know there is a minimum physical requirement. Could anyone tell me about their personal experience with the Commissioning Course or any physical aspect of their training, and whether it would be unrealistic for me to sign up? Please speak frankly, I won't be insulted - it's why I've asked. And no snide comments, I really couldn't give less of a f*uck about cowards who waste their time insulting people on online forums :)

2. Your best bet is to go to the recruiting office, though I wouldn't hold my breath if I were you.

3. Ord_Sgt

Ord_Sgt RIP

crow bag is being generous. Full mobility is required for all Corps and Regiments in the Army, irrespective of what their daily work may be. The Sally Army might be a better choice.

4. Not particularly sympathetic Ord_Sgt...... but unfortunately true.