Prospective Armourer...

Discussion in 'REME' started by DisorderlyChimp, Oct 4, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi Folks - first off, a quick Hello!
    I've posted in a couple of other sections of the board, but this is my first time venturing into the REME pad.

As per the title, I'm a prospective armourer. As a more "mature" bloke I decided to pick something that interested me as a trade - and that's fiddling with weapons (ooh'er - sounds a bit odd when you read that back to yourself!).

I've spent some time in the "Joining Up" forum, and would just like to throw out a couple of more corps/trade specific questions to those with the experience.

First of all; Once qualified and out of phase 2 at SEME - how do things work re' postings?
    Would I be automatically drafted to somewhere particular, or would I have the chance to show an interest in particular openings.
    I do understand that later on I can show a preference for certain postings (although I know there are no promises here), but am just unsure how it works straight out pf phase 2.

Also; how does it work? - would I be asking "Please can I be Posted to 4 Rifles, 1 R.Anglian, or 7 REME please" - or would I simply be asking "can you please post me somewhere in the southern half of the UK"?

- The only reason I ask is that I'd like to think I'd be able to have postings where I'm within driving distance of my children for the weekends (when I'm not deployed on ops/exercise).

For info, I'm already part-way through the recruitment process - BARB is done and am just going through the motions with medical & ADSC (have already completed both recently as a prospective infantry STAB, so in theory I know I should be fine).