Promotion With The RAMC

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by dave11, Feb 13, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi

I'm ex infantry having served 5 year. I currently work in a hospital but I want to re join, but this time with the RAMC as a Combat Medic.

With the infantry i know for promotion we went away for X amount of weeks doing infantry skills etc etc. once passed you got your stripe.

Whats the score for the RAMC? is it the same? is it time served? what courses do you have to do for PTE>LCPL / LCPL>CPL / CPL>SGT and so on?

I currently waiting on Glasgow to see if i get the go ahead.

cheers x ^_^

2. Cheers Drivers_log. kind of guessed this, but wanted to ask anyway.

3. WRONG!!!!!

You will do your Class 3-2, go to your first unit and after a year, be able to attend your Class 1. Sometimes it can be quicker but do not assume promotion after the first course. It will be on merit, not your illustrious past.

4. so once training is completed your a class 3?

5. No - so long as you complete the Common Core Course, you will leave DMSTG as a Class 2.

6. So as a class 2 CMT what be would be day to day camp life be? Playstation days?? :) and to go to lcpl would you need to be class 1 ??

7. Day to day activity for the CMT2 and indeed the CMT1 at a Med Regt / Fd Hosp can often consist of: counting tents and ancillary's, painting boxes, counting magazines, moving boxes, cleaning weapons and everything and anything else you can think of that is as far removed from Medicine, or Healthcare as possible. Throw in a little moaning about the lack of clinical training with that too.

You usually have to have attained CMT1 prior to promotion to LCpl, however it isn't unheard of to see Class 2's pick up.

What do you do currently at the Hospital you work in?