Professionally qualified. Yet trying to avoid PQO course advice please?

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by TheFriendlyBomb, Feb 28, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Apologies if something similar has already been covered and don't get me wrong I'm not trying to avoid training in any way it's just that I would rather go to RMAS properly (so I feel I've earnt my commision) instead of doing a 10 week course. Now is it possible to take the option of going to RMAS for the full course? Now I realise that my profession may be helpful here so I'm a fully qualified English teacher (BA and Post Graduate Certificate in Education). I asked at the AFCO but nobody there seemed to know. I'm hoping to join the AGC in the ETS branch.
  2. Good news! Teachers aren't counted as PQO so you'd have to do the full Commissioning Course anyway before heading towards the AGC(ETS) during the choice of arm process.

Additionally, change AFCO or ask them to direct you to their ACA1 as the guys on the desk at your current one don't have a clue.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Not sure if I'm offended or not about not being considered a professional! It was bloody hard work getting there lol!

Already twigged that but thanks anyway.
  4. cpunk

cpunk LE Moderator

Up to a point, Lord Copper.
  5. It's all about the, dentists, physios, padres etc tend to be expected to be docs, dentists, physios, padres etc first and soldiers second (if at all) but as an ETS Officer, you'll be expected to be a soldier first then a teacher.

Additionally, in any future role as an Officer tutor you'll need the background knowledge to facilitate lessons on various professional aspects of soldiering/being an Officer. This means you'll do all the CPD than any other Officer does to gain this background.