Problems with Military Equipment

Hello All,

I am currently studying A-Level Product Design, this involves identifying a problem and developing a product to solve it. As an aspiring officer (currently applying for the scholarship scheme) I have chosen to explore the theme of the military.
I am therefore researching problems with military equipment, and it would be really helpful if you could tell me about any issues you have encountered. I have also made a questionnaire about problems in the military, and I would really appreciate it if you could fill this out to aid my research.
Problems In The Military

Many thanks!

**@Bad CO has given permission to post this.

Ayatollah

Old-Salt
Rarely does Military Equipment go into service without going through trials and testing first. From the experience of years ago problems occurred due to lack of servicing and neglect by the operator cutting corners.

Could you suggest any equipment that is missing? Or anything that needs improvement? If you could take one piece of kit with you on a mission, besides the necessities, what would it be?

Rarely does Military Equipment go into service without going through trials and testing first. From the experience of years ago problems occurred due to lack of servicing and neglect by the operator cutting corners.
Not that you'd always notice. If you take that most basic of issue items; the army boot, for example. There is a long history of poor design and acceptance of sub-standard design.

1) Ammo boots. Poor in the working environment but revered for parade ground use (when they were/are rendered even more useless for any other purpose by the compulsory destructive bulling process).

2) Boots DMS. As comfortable as bedroom slippers when cutting around camp, but a poor item in the field, particularly in cold/wet conditions. Practically zero waterproof properties. Performed very badly during the Falklands War.