Problems with Fire Service Employer.

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by Adolf, Feb 8, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am a Crew Manager within the Fire & Rescue Service and would like some advice in regards to joining the TA.Having a previous 8 years service in the Army prior to joining the Fire Service I am now keen to join the TA and have recently visited my local unit who seem keen to take me on board.The problem I have is that I have found out today that my Brigade have placed a ban on any new applications to join the reserve/TA. This seems very starnge as there is only 1 member of my entire Brigade who is in the TA.

Any Help or advice would be greatly appreciated.I also intend to speak with the TA units UESO
  2. You could try SaBRE's helpline - 0800 389 5459
  3. Spoke with my mums bloke the other night who is in the London fire brigade as I was thinking of joining. The brigades policy is that no fire fighter can join any reserve service as what they do in the brigade is classsed as a reserved occupation (or something like that).

Not sure if the brigade you're applying for opts for this policy but if they do then I can see any way around this mate. Good luck
  4. The Beer Man, thanks for your reply but Im afraid that information is incorrect as neither the Fire Service or the Police is now classed as a Reserve Occupation.I no numerous guy in other Brigades who are reserve/TA its just my stinking Brigade that is putting a block on TA service.
  5. OldSnowy

OldSnowy LE Moderator Book Reviewer

The idea of "Reserved Occupation" did indeed go out years ago. As with many other uniformed services, it's down to the management, I'm afraid. If they don't want you to join, they can indeed stop you - if they are co*ks, then they are co*ks, I'm afraid.