Private Chest Xray

HQ have asked me to have a CXR to be cleared for immigration to go to America on my elective. It just cost me £83.50 as It had to be done privately .As apparently this reason for having a CXR is not covered by NHS.

Can I claim for this to be re-imbursed since the Army asked me to get this done?

thanks

chocolate_frog said:
Couldn't your medcen have arranged this?
Unfortunately not, since I am not under a medcentre at the moment and come under a NHS civilian GP. This is because im a final year medical student with a full medical cadetship.
Perhaps HQ should have arranged for me to go to a medcen, but I had no choice in the matter.

medic-matt said:
HQ have asked me to have a CXR to be cleared for immigration to go to America on my elective. It just cost me £83.50 as It had to be done privately .As apparently this reason for having a CXR is not covered by NHS.
Can I claim for this to be re-imbursed since the Army asked me to get this done?

thanks
that sounds like ballocks to me, I have done these in the past, where did you go?

edited to add if anyone else needs one I'll do it for £60 :D

Techtechtech said:
medic-matt said:

thanks
that sounds like ballocks to me, I have done these in the past, where did you go?

edited to add if anyone else needs one I'll do it for £60 :D
I went to my civilian GP in Manchester to arrange a referal and I was sent to the BMI Alexandra Hospital in Cheadle, Manchester. If this should have definately been done on the NHS, let me know and I'll wipe the floor with them! :x

Thanks

Immigration CXR's are not done on the NHS. They are classed as Category 2 Private x-rays and are £60 upwards.

actually no, I presumed that you had access to the military system. we don't charge soldiers but we do charge civvies. £83 is a little steep though, ours is about £68.

Also, although the Army actually did the asking, I suspect the Canadians were the ones who decreed the CXR was necessary so its not really th'Army's fault :D