Private Chest Xray

Discussion in 'Professionally Qualified, RAMC and QARANC' started by medic-matt, Sep 22, 2009.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. HQ have asked me to have a CXR to be cleared for immigration to go to America on my elective. It just cost me £83.50 as It had to be done privately .As apparently this reason for having a CXR is not covered by NHS.

Can I claim for this to be re-imbursed since the Army asked me to get this done?

2. Couldn't your medcen have arranged this?
  3. Unfortunately not, since I am not under a medcentre at the moment and come under a NHS civilian GP. This is because im a final year medical student with a full medical cadetship.
    Perhaps HQ should have arranged for me to go to a medcen, but I had no choice in the matter.
  4. Forastero

Forastero LE Moderator

Why don't you ring your SO3 and ask her?
  5. I will, but just wanted to check if it was worth bothering her about first. To see if I 'have a leg to stand on'.
  6. that sounds like ballocks to me, I have done these in the past, where did you go?

edited to add if anyone else needs one I'll do it for £60 :D
  7. I went to my civilian GP in Manchester to arrange a referal and I was sent to the BMI Alexandra Hospital in Cheadle, Manchester. If this should have definately been done on the NHS, let me know and I'll wipe the floor with them! :x

8. Immigration CXR's are not done on the NHS. They are classed as Category 2 Private x-rays and are £60 upwards.
  9. actually no, I presumed that you had access to the military system. we don't charge soldiers but we do charge civvies. £83 is a little steep though, ours is about £68.
  10. Also, although the Army actually did the asking, I suspect the Canadians were the ones who decreed the CXR was necessary so its not really th'Army's fault :D