Private Car Sales – Advice Needed

Discussion in 'Finance, Property, Law' started by Ned_Seagoon, Dec 1, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I admit it, I am a novice and don’t even have an e-bay account. I need to sell my 1 year old tax-free import (4 wheels that represent a deposit on my house). Dealers are not interested – “too much stock on hand”, so I accept that I will have to go for a private sale. In the past I have only ever px’d or passed on old sheds to members of the family. What is the best way of going about a private sale? How do I avoid being ripped of with the payment? ….. ARRsers advice welcomed, preferably of the constructive type but I acknowledge that ritual abuse is inevitable.

2. The only sure fire guarantee on payment is CASH, if you get paid cash as long as it isn't a forgery it is OK.

Peter

3. Assuming this is a fairly valuable type of car, you need to get it advertised nationally.
    Do not allow anyone to test drive it without you in it and without their own insurance. Accept only cash or a bankers draft, and even then, only part with the motor once the payment has been accepted by the bank (to avoid forgery issues).

Do not give out your home address or meet prospective buyers at your house. they may be car thieves who will return later to steal it.

Do be very cautious and suspicious. Take a big friend with you!

Get the buyers details. (Driving licence is a good bet) even if you are perfectly happy at the time.

4. Don't accept a bankers draft - they can bounce.

If accepting cash arrange to meet at your bank and have the buyer pay the cash into your account. That way the bank will check the cash for forgeries and can't quibble that the money is credited to your account (even if it turns out to be forged at a later stage).

5. Further to Keyboardwarriors advice.