PRINCE2 or PMP??

Discussion in 'Education and Resettlement Courses' started by ex-scaley212, Nov 4, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Okay, well I am looking at getting my Project Management certification done, and as far as I can see it, the two options are PRINCE2 or PMP.

I've been contracting overseas for the last 4 years, and would like to either continue with this a little longer, or alternatively get a more regular job but still outside of the UK.

Does anybody know if either of these two quals carried any more weight internationally? And in the US particularly?

2. Alsacien

Alsacien LE Moderator

PMP will take a considerable amount of effort, and will need substantial quals and/or several years of experience to back it up before you get a cert.
    Prince2 you can get in a week...its just a methodology, nothing about the practicalities or techniques needed to be a PM.
    PMP is well recognised in the US, Prince2 - I would be surprised if anyone had heard of it.

• Like Like x 1
  3. From what I've seen, PMP does seem to be a more heavyweight qual. Just the coursework alone that I have seen is this enormous weapon of a book, and on the other hand I've heard of friends of friends who have pretty much turned up for their Prince2 and got their ticket after a week. Not an attendance course by any means, but definitely a lot more achievable in the short term.

Thanks, Alsacien, that tends to corroborate what I have already heard.

4. i have prince2 practitioner, done in 5 days. I would say it's not a turn up job, prince2 foundation is multiguess and pretty much common sense therefore fairly easy, practitioner is 9 questions in 2.5 hours and quite nails as you can spend 40 mins on a question and if you get the last bit wrong its nil point! I just finished the last question with 5 mins to spare.