Press ups etc for children

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by zippy483, Jun 14, 2010.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Good evening all

I have a question for all you PTI's etc out there.

My little girl has recently taken up Gymanstics (she's 6), I arrived home from work tonight to discover her and MrsZippy practicing the days Gymnastic lessons, which apparently included press ups them being full blown straight back only hands and toes touching the floor you know the ones the same kind you have all done thousands of during your carreers.

I seem to remember that ladies were encouraged to do pressups on their knees for some reason or other that has been lost in the mists of time

I am also a cadet instructor and "we" can't have our cadets doing press ups unless in the presence of a fully qualified PTI.

so the question is can anybody deliver chapter and verse as to why my 6 year old doing press ups may be damaging to her little body?

If the consensus is that it's ok then fair enough I would just rather her not get to injured at such a tender age.

cheers
    Zippy483

2. I imagine the Gymnastics coaches are qualified ?

3. I seem to recall that had something to do with WRAC being a bunch of winging phys. dodgers

Tarts.

4. Funny enough that's what I thought it was. Mind you it's the same for the Cadet Leadership Course - blokes do 30 push-ups while the girls do something like 20 with their knees on the ground. Probably something more than just sexism in that case.

5. It's the why's of girls with knees on the ground that I'd like to know the Gym coach is qualified which is why I haven't just jumped in there said eh that's not right