Preparing for officer entry

Discussion in 'Officers' started by hull_lad, Nov 6, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am in my first year of sixth form and planning on joining the army as an officer when I complete my A levels. However, I am concerned that my interests and hobbies are not broad enough to give me a good chance of getting through even just the Potential Officers Course. I aim to join the infantry (paras) and so have been working on my fitness which is almost as good as it needs to be. As far as preparing for breifing and AOSB goes I should be fine as I am aware that knowledge on world affairs, politics, army history etc should be good, however my dad (ex soldier) keeps saying that I need to get involved in more things to give me a better chance of being successful in officer selection. I currently only play sports and none of them to a level that is impressive. The only new thing I can think of doing that would be relevant is to join the cadets and maybe my local TA regiment when I turn 17. Has anyone got any other ideas? They would be much appreciated.

2. Before other people start butting in about "learn to use search" - which is true, BTW, here's my advice: relax. Be yourself. If anything, try to ensure that you're always stimulated and using your brain. You can do that however you like. AOSB is all about confidence. Gnawing at your self esteem because you don't conform to some archetype will do you much greater harm than any particular extracurriculars you get from following that archetype will help you.