Powerboating - any RLC boaty people about?

Discussion in 'RLC' started by Scavenger, Feb 28, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm after some advice, probably from those fine Port and Maritime people...

I'm an RYA Powerboat Instructor and am looking at providing this as part of an AT package. Something along the lines of each group having half a day on the water, helming under supervision, perhaps doing some sort of nav exercise.

Seems to be little mention of powerboating as an AT activity in JSP419, apart from in relation to diving. I've been told it is therefore the same as taking the unit go karting, paintballing etc.

Anybody know any different? And while I'm on, do my civ quals relate to any army boat quals? Just in case I need to ask for a RIB.

Cheers in advance!
  2. No idea but if you want to drive a Pacific 22 or 24 in the RN its a specific different course from the RYA PBlvl2 for example that you use to drive Seariders and such.

That probably doesn't help.
  3. AGAI 18 contains a section on Army helm qualifications/civvy equivelants and who is allowed to drive what. Theres also a section covering adventure training that may be useful. I dont have a copy handy so cant say how useful it will be for your specific scenario.
  4. CH133567457853455 is your man. I think he does some power boat stuff. He certainly doesnt do much Pet Opping. Just dont ask him to account for fuel or add up.................
  5. Account for fuel...is that what were meant to do?!