Potential recruit needing advice.

Discussion in 'Infantry' started by Brann, Aug 1, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. This is my first time on this forum & i'm needing a bit help.
    I've decided that i'm going to join up, however i'm stuck between the infantry & engineers.
    My first choice is def infantry, and would see this as a long term career move. However all i hear is bad things about army life, i.e poor living conditions, boredom e.t.c
    This is where the R.E come in, if i was to join as an engineer ( i have the qualifications) then at least if i were to leave after four years, then i would be leaving with a trade.
    What i'm really asking is what army life is really like. Infantry is without doubt what i want to do & i realise the hard work involved , i just want to know what lifes like when you're not working?

Any replies would be appreciated, cheers.

2. If the Infantry is your thing - do that - true there is no call for a GPMG commander in civvy street but you have a long time ahead of you in which you can switch trades and re-badge. I will let other people tell you about life when youre not working - I seem to be in a minority that thinks being in the army is MUCH easier than a real job in civvi street ( with the exception of operations that is ).

3. Infantry = Little qualifications upon leaving (I'm not saying none, the Army have a good resettlement package where they will teach you to be more civvie-ish and give you a trade). Failing that you could find work in the Private security sector upon leaving the infantry...

The infantry is a good lifestyle, but you'll get the most from it if you stick at it, its not much of a short term job if you are wanting to be a civvie after four years.

Boredom? Somtimes, but you'll welcome those days as it beats digging a fire trench then living in it.