Potential Cavalry Officer

Hello everyone,

I’m a 23 year old graduate and have started to think seriously about trying to join as a regular officer. I come from a very army family, my father served for nearly 40 years and I was at a military school (DoYRMS). Although I don’t think I’m the usual army ‘type’ a lot of people I know seem to think that I’d be a fool not to give it a go, so I’m starting to look into it.

Initially I've been thinking about the Household Div, the KRH (my local cavalry) and the Scots Dragoon Guards. I feel I'd get on in a regiment with a very traditional ethos and I hear the cavalry are still like that, and I always enjoyed the ceremonial side of the army. However, I don't really have any links with any of these regiments and I'm just wondering where I should go from here.

It's still very early days, any advice or recommendations would be appreciated.

I feel I'd get on in a regiment with a very traditional ethos and I hear the cavalry are still like that,
'Traditional ethos' - Translates to: Out-of-touch Pompous arse's living in an era 150 yrs ago, with ridiculous rules, sayings and habits

. . . and I always enjoyed the ceremonial side of the army.
That's nice. However, best not to forget the 99% of the time doing real work, looking after the guys (a chunk of whom are admin nightmares), personal development and sucking up to the Adj, OC & CO.

Okay, okay, I realise what I originally posted makes me sound like a twat. My father joined up at 17 and retired last year at 55 as a Lt. Col. the reason I don't think of myself as the army 'type' is because I'm not like my dad or his mates and as some people here have noticed I can sometimes sound like a pompous arse. All this put me off thinking about the army before but recently people (including my dad) have been saying it might be a good thing for me to consider.