Popular Regiments

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by officer21, Dec 26, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello everyone!

I have recently (2days ago) made an application to join the regular army as an officer, however left the regiments preference section blank. I am a final year student at university and have only recently started to consider career in the armed forces.

I've thought about the Parachute Regiment, Air Army Corps and Intelligence Corps.

I would like to know what the most and least popular corps or regiments are.

Areas of the army I'd like to join that I have selected are from Officer/Graduate, Combat and Intelligence.

I hope to hear from you soon.

2. 3 differing jobs, pick 1....

3. Depends what you mean by "most & least popular".. however, what I can say is God has given his seal of approval to a certain corps ;)

4. If you are interested in joining a line infantry regiment go for your local one, although some are more popular than others and therefore have fewer vacancies.

The Corps of Royal Engineers is probably the most popular and we have very little difficulty recruiting sufficent numbers of officers.

5. Be a leader not a follower, make your own mind up

6. Hi plant_life, I'm thinking of joining the RE as an officer, tentatively, why do you think there are issues with recruiting? I'd have thought it was quite competitive for officer places....?

7. Read that again Sherlock. :roll:

8. Oh yeah, idiot me.

But generally if you want to be an RE officer and perform ok you will get sponsored?

9. not just okay, norm top 5% that choose RE, quite strict still however we allow woman (awaiting bite...)

10. WOW

same as REME,Int Corps, dentists, etc................zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz