Polish Troops Massing Against Belarus: Truth or Crap?

Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by Not_Whistlin_Dixie, Aug 6, 2005.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Somebody posted this story at a stock market board I frequent. Folks are quite upset about it. My gut instinct is that it is a tasteless joke or an hysterical exaggeration but I'm not an expert on eastern Europe or military matters.

"Putin Orders Special Forces to Belarus as Polish Army Units Mass on Border, Preemptive Strikes on EU Possible Say Russian Generals" by Sorcha Faal. 3 August 2005

2. Sounds Like Blolocks to me. If I'm proved wrong I'll eat my elongated foot.
  3. it may not happen but there is tension between Belarus and Poland due to Belarussian President suppression of the Polish communities in Belarus which was part of old Poland before WW2 ,the whole nation was moved westward, taking a slice of Eastern Germany and losing a part of their eastern territories.
  4. Sounds like a load of old balls, with the usual poke at the yanks at the bottom.
  5. Hmmm, the Sorcha Faal story is no doubt much exaggerated but it seems there genuinely is a Poland v Belarus dispute connected with the ethnic Polish minority in Belarus. Even the factual reports read like the early serials in a bad theatre wargame. Expect the White Republic to put in an early appearance.
  6. they dont get on too well to say the least

prop on a large scale exercise or some thing just to wind the belaruss folks up...
  7. Here you go from the 'Moscow Times'

Friday, July 29, 2005. Issue 3219. Page 4.

Aa Aa Aa

Belarus Raid Escalates Spat With Poland

By Andrei Makhovsky and Natalia Reiter

Sergei Grits / AP

Poles dancing in front of the Union of Poles' office in Grodno, which Belarussian special forces stormed Thursday.