Planning to join the TA

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Reserve Recruitment' started by Fudmonkey, Dec 19, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all, new to the site. Thinking of joining the TA initially with a view to signing up for the regulars if all goes well. Based in Cardiff, so will be joining one of the South Wales units, considering infantry, artillery or medics.

I'm a Glasgow Uni Politics graduate, so I'll be aiming to join as an officer in the regulars. Any advice will be gladly received, especially anyone in the TA in Cardiff.

Cheers.

2. Fudmonkey, welcome to the forum.

You've got a great idea but I'd make one modification. If I were you, I'd bypass the TA bit.

They are two very differently painted kettles of wildly varying sized fish -in fact, fish in one kettle, badgers in the other.

Just go Regular mate and do it before TA paperwork destroys your will to live.

3. Ah, but which kettle has the badger in it? I think I want that kettle.

I understand what you're saying, and in some ways it makes sense to just bite the bullet and sign up for the full show. However, I really want to get a feel for what the army will be like. Right now I haven't a clue, most of my family are Navy and those who have been in the army I haven't spoken to in a long while. I mean if its everything I hope it to be, then great, if its what I fear it could be like then I don't know if I'd hack it.

Joining the TA would simply be a case of dipping my toe in the water, if all goes well I'll sign up very shortly afterwards.

By the way, what are my chances of being deployed in the TA?

4. Speak to jagythistle he will be able to aswer any questions

5. A Partick Thistle fan I assume? Can they be trusted...

Yes they can actually, very nice bunch, I used to live next to Firhill so all my locals were Jag pubs.