Discussion in 'Officers' started by papegojan, Nov 2, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I have asked this elsewhere and am hoping that the ladies and gentlemen of this forum can help me with this. I am an instructor in the ACF and the other night was instructing my new recruits in badges of rank. When I came to the commissioned officers, I told them about pips. Normally the recruits accept that this is the given name for that particular symbol, and the lesson continues. The other night, to my horror, one of them raises his hand and asks "Why are they called pips?" cue one veteran instructor doing a good impression of a stranded goldfish, before regaining his composure with the immortal answer of "I don't know but I will try and find out for you". The internet has not shed much ight on things for me, telling me the proper name for them etc, but why pips? I await your convenience
  2. I'm sure someone will correct me soon enough, but I thought pips was the colloquial name. The proper name is "Bath star".
  3. In the Household Division, they are always refered to as Stars. In all regiments of H Div, they are Garter Stars, less in IG which uses the Star of St Patrick, and SG which uses the Star of something else. Most of the rest of the army uses the Bath Star, therefore that is the correct name.
  4. In the Royal Welsh and the PWRR they are Eversleigh Stars and NEVER pips.

Oranges have pips.
  5. I believe that the Scots use the star of the Order of the Thistle. Coldstream, Welsh and Horrid Grenadiers wear Garter stars in monchrome, HCav with a bit of colour.