Pipe band question

Discussion in 'Infantry' started by Mother, Dec 2, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Have any of you chaps in the Pipe bands of the Regiments ever come across pipers or any info on pipers from the Corps?
    Just interested as I am a Corps soldier and have just began learning the pipes. I don't think I can attend the School of Piping as it is only for personnel from units with "approved Pipes and Drums".

2. One of the Sigs regiments have a pipe band. One of their piper's was playing at Sandhurst I belief. Best idea is to phone up the Army School of Bagpipe music.

3. 30SR have a Ghurkha piper and there's a piper at the Royal School of Signals in Blandford too (along with the Corps band). Might be worth giving them a bell.

4. Get in touch with HQ Sqn 31 Sigs - they have a S/Sgt who is ex Pipe Major of The London Scottish. PM me if you need the name.

5. Im a civvy, and dont know exactly what rules govern you.

However I do know that if you were able to somehow get civilian tuition, there'd be no shortage of people willing to teach you. My pipe band do it for free, or if you're looking for personal 1-1 tuition its simply a case of saying to someone, "right mate, fancy teaching me"!

I dont really know your can and can't do's so am limited to what I can tell you at the minute.

Military pipe bands are great though and if you can somehow get involved with one, id say definitely give that a shot. Theres plenty of time for civvy bands when you leave the corps.

6. You will find that most of the best civi pipe bands are in scotland and ireland, very few in england. Army pipe bands are the way forward, i do know that the sigs have a pipe band but not to sure how good.