Physical Stuff

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by homer2418, Dec 13, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi All

Im an office manager, who has not really done much keeping fit !!!
    ie running and all that.

In the starting process of joining the TA, I seem to be told two different things by staff at TA Centre, ie You dont have to be fit when you join, dont worry about the medical or assesment weekend, we'll train you and get you fit
    but need to meet a certain standard by the time you end up at catterick or CSMR - 2 weeks

Then second person advised me not to have medical or assesment week end until 3 months time, andin that time i was to do some working out and getting fit.

Can some point me in the right direction and give me some decent advice

2. Best advice I can give you is to Post this on the TA Board itself. This board is more for Units, Regiments etc to announce when they are recruiting. You're more likely to get replies and advice on the main TA Board.

Good luck.

3. I would if you have time to start pounding the tarmac (or trails - it's easier on your knees) the physical standard isn't too fantastic but you want to aim to be able to do 1.5 miles in about 12 mins - I think is the minimum for entry into the TA.

As for medicals the TA should not be taking you on PT until you have been medically cleared so anything you do should be off your own back.

I would also start seeing how many press ups (full extent to a fists distance from the floor) and sit ups (arms folded across your chest, fingers touching you collar bone. From the floor until your elbows touch your thighs) you can do in 2 minutes.

Don't just go hell for leather running, try pacing yourself at about 70% effort and every now and then try running the 1.5 mile circuit at best effort (100%)

Hope this helps