Discussion in 'Current Affairs, News and Analysis' started by vinegartom, May 14, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,

I have re-uploaded this message after receiving permission from the forum moderator to post it with slight revisions.

I am a national newspaper photographer seeking help for a mini project. I am hoping to do a story on the treatment of former soldiers wounded in Iraq or Afghanistan on their return to the UK. I am seeking to meet and photograph such a person in their home environment and also doing something active.

I think that the way wounded former soldiers are portrayed in the media at the moment is largely quite depressing, I would like to do something different and get an image of someone getting on with their lives; doing a hobby, playing a sport, taking kids to school etc.

The process of taking the pictures would take about 1 - 1.5 hours. I would travel to the subject. I could afford to pay any reasonable expenses incurred by the subject in arranging the shoot, but no sitting fee or anything like that, sorry. The image may end up being published if it is good enough and we are both happy with it.

If you think you can help with this, I would be very grateful if you could email me with your contact details. My email address is

Thanks a lot.

2. James,
    Have you cleared this post with the "CO's" ?
  3. Have you asked the CO's for permission for this blatant self advertising on this site?

Are you willing to pay for the soldiers travel or will you travel to him/her? Will you pay them for their time and story/offer to give money to charity?

Edited to add - your web site doesn't work, very professional.......
  4. More to the point, will the pictures be 'artistic'?
  5. I will attempt to clear the message with the moderator of Current Affairs, News and Analysis.