Photography branch in the British Army

Discussion in 'RLC' started by jungle_jim, Mar 31, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Sorry to bother you guys, a find of a friend is asking about joining the servicies as a photographer, i have found some info for the RAF and RN, but having snags finding info for the Army. does such a branch exist if so could you give me some information or a link to some information

many thanks

2. The RLC tend to be the phot blokes (formerly the RAOC). I know it used to be a trade a little while ago but not sure if it still exists.

Post this in the RLC forum. (You'll have to cut your way through truck drivers and egg techs first but I'm sure one or two phot blokes can help).

3. Cow

Cow LE

Knew of a guy in the Signals who retraded to RLC as a photo person. Pretty sure most people there had internaly transfered and had an interest in photography. Tried the ACIO?

They def exist as they're always on tour following round the Big Cheese's, trying to get your photo to get you crated.

4. We're out there. There are about 44 Army photographers capbadged RLC. You can't join direct, but need to transfer in to the trade

5. My Bold.

How the hell is Jungle Jim to know the way to join THE TRADE, whatever the trade is, unless you mean the RLC. Even then you haven't told jim how to achieve it. More help required here please.

F

6. Gumball, classic day 1 week 1 mistake assuming that people on an army rumour website are conversant with Army ways.

Jungle, yr "mate," needs to join the Army/RLC initially and then transfer to the Photographers trade. Not sure on if spaces are available, met a few "Phots" in my time and seem like a decent if misunderstood bunch, sure they would advise if you ask. Try a pm to Gumball perhaps :?

7. We did the recce-photo course at RAF Cosford..yarda yarda yarda