Photographing Shiny Things

Discussion in 'Shooting, Hunting and Fishing' started by Effendi, Feb 4, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Mr Bollox presented a problem. I am not an expert but I played around with this sort of thing for a while and am also open to advice, guidance and input:

My own solution was based around this kind of thing. I made my cube out of a 2'x2'x2' cardboard box that I cut the sides out of. I replaced the sides with white cotton bought cheap from Leicester market, for the light sources I picked up a couple of on sale anglepoise type lamps at B&Q and put in some high power daylight light bulbs from the hobby shop. Backgrounds varied as appropriate for the item being photo'ed. You have to lay with the lighting until you have no shadow and no real glinty highlights - like I said I had a couple of anglepoises but I used to use another lamp too occasionally to get the desired effect.

As a rule never do a straight down pic or a straight side on pic - it looks too engineering plan. Go for an angled view and arrange the bits and pieces with a prop or two to fire the onlookers imagination and tell a story.

Just my thoughts. Input welcome.

[​IMG]

• Like Like x 1
  2. Can't beat what you've got for my money, made a few myself: wire coat hanger black nasty'd onto a housebrick, poked through the back of the light box and crimped on the item: makes chrome fishing reels 'float' in air, and dead easy to find the edges for photoshopping into articles/printed media afterward.

Due to closeness to the subject, the more light going in, the better for max depth of field as well. Try inverting and hand-holding another lens in front of the camera lens for macro shots of hallmarks, serial numbers and so on.

3. A polarising filter?

4. Every day's a school day.