Pet Ops

Discussion in 'RLC' started by stabandswat, Jun 14, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Here goes.... I am currently a TA soldier and a recruit. I don't think the reg I am in is for me as I want a trade as such and I have seen the role of Pet Ops. I am probably opening myself up for a whole host of abuse here but would someone kindly tell me what the role is like and if anyone knows what the TA RLC is like. Many thanks in anticipation....

2. Pet Ops, well if you want the official job description its this..
    The RLC Petroleum Operator controls and administers the Army’s fuel supplies throughout the operational theatre and as such requires the technical personnel to ensure that the fuel is stored correctly and fit for use in the combat vehicles and aircraft. The RLC Petroleum Operator undertakes the receipt, inspection, storage and issue of bulk and packed petroleum products. As a RLC Petroleum Operator you will set up and dismantle flexible tank and pipeline systems, operate the various types of container filling and cleaning apparatus, operate pumps, bulk tanks, bulk transport loading and discharge apparatus, and pipeline fittings and equipment. In addition you will be required to carry out routine maintenance of petroleum equipment and machines. You will operate line and radio communications and understand the various causes, preventative measures and methods of controlling petroleum fires, as well as being required to carry out fire fighting duties.