Paying tax on a tax free car when leaving BFG

Discussion in 'Army Pay, Claims & JPA' started by missym, Jul 27, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I have been forced to pay tax on a car I bought tax free 9 months ago due to an unexpected posting away from BFG. (don't even start me on how unfair the system is!)

I'm just wondering if anyone has any experience of how long the German customs people take to generate the tax bill? I sent off my form 38 two weeks ago and I'm still waiting.

The car's in the UK, the paperworks stuck in a jam in Germany and I'm in BATUS. Just want the damn thing sorted out.
  2. I'm not an expert but i have just left Germany so know a bit about the rules. i stand to be corrected here but I was under the impression you were exempt from paying tax when importing the car back to UK after 13 Months unless you are posted early through no fault of your own.

I may be wrong. Have you phoned the customs people in Dusseldorf yet and asked them? I always found them helpful as long as you were polite and didn't lose it with them. 72 4100 is the BFG helpline i always used.

Good luck.
  3. Again, no expert but going through the process myself. I understood that each entitled person could take back a new tax-free vehicle as long as it had been BFG'd for 24 hours. I think the form that you have to complete is a BFG Form 414A (to get your 414) and Annex B to Sect 6 of SOBA(G) 3213. The critical rule, as I understand it, is that you must not sell the vehicle until 12 months after the initial BFG registration date.
    Hope that helps. If you need forms etc or want answers from the BFG team then PM me as I am still in Fally.
  4. You are both absolutely correct except for one small detail... I'm a UKBC.