Pay at Sandhurst

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by SamSeabourne, Nov 13, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Afternoon all,

I was wondering if anyone could answer a questions I have regarding pay while at Sandhurst.

As I understand it as a graduate I would be starting on £24,615 during training and then £29,586 afterwards.

But I was wondering while at Sandhurst, what deductions your pay faces for board and food, etc?

Does anyone know the take home salary at the end of each month while at Sandhurst?

Thanks for the help. :salut:
  2. Brotherton Lad

Brotherton Lad LE Reviewer

3. You should find that food's free, since it's a training establishment. Certainly was when I was there.
  4. I'd say that any amount that you can afford to pay would be gratefully accepted in these straitened times.

And thank you for your kind offer, it's not every day we meet up with a cadet as generous as you appear to be.

Or have I got it wrong again?

• Like Like x 1
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Brotherton Lad

Tell the young'uns that a quarter of your pay went on food and accom and another quarter on tax and NI and they won't believe you. Then most of the rest went on your Mess bill.
  6. Sympathetic_Reaction

Sympathetic_Reaction LE Book Reviewer

We used to have a 'voluntary' £X taken for tea and cakes supplied at 11:00 - if you weren't there or didn't get them tough luck because you still got charged - and don't even think about asking not to be charged.....also wasn't there another voluntary charge in lieu of Council Tax (9p per day jumps to mind)

7. Brotherton Lad

I thought it was still deducted centrally, then Pay as you Dine in your unit. Happy to be corrected, though.
  8. We got our tea and stickies at tea time not elevenses.