Pay as you dine - PAYD

Discussion in 'Army Pay, Claims & JPA' started by Combat_Cookie, Oct 27, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am a fairly new member to ARRSE, but having been reading it for a few years now without ever posting.

I will put my hands up and admit I am a chef, with over 16 years service (Hides behind sofa awaiting a barrage of slop jockey abuse).

My unit has just gone through the PAYD transition and we are now a fully operating PAYD site.

I was wondering if many of you out there had changed over to PAYD at your units, and what your opinions of it are now that it is "in".

For those of you that dont yet have Pay as you dine at your units and are beggining to flap at the thought of it, I am willing to put your minds at rest and answer any burning (sensible) questions on it that you post.

2. Cookie, as we havnt got PAYD here at our camp yet, can you just tell me and probably a lot of others how it works, as in,

Do we pay for every round of bread?
    As many cups of coffee after you paid for 1st one?
    Do soldiers actually run out of money as i have heard before?
    Whats the average selection you can get?
    Whats the complaints procedure? i take it that its not the old way of telling the bored Duty Officer the chips are cold and that you can go straight to the contractor?
    Do you still get guard meals?

3. Also, do you get a bog standard meal for free and just pay for anything over and above such as:-

'today I fancy a nice medium rare steak with all the trimmings'

4. Hi mate,

I will try to keep it brief on some of the above, but this may help to ease the doubts that some of you have and the horror stories you seem to all be getting!!:

Do we pay for every round of bread?
    This is what you are entitled to if you choose the Core meal option: