Paras Recruit

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Soldier Recruitment' started by nighthawk!, Aug 25, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm thinking of joining the paras as a soldier, I'm 24 years old, pretty fit and I have a degree. I am however wondering if I'm too old to go in as a soldier? I know on the army website it says I can join up to the age of 32 but do many people do that?

Also do the paras train you to do any specific jobs when you're in, I know you can be a PTI but what about any other jobs?

Any feedback would be appreciated

2. There are many routes into the army which offer trade training or qualifications but the infantry can be limiting.

Why are you thinking specifically of The Parachute Regiment? What is your degree in?

3. FORMER_FYRDMAN

FORMER_FYRDMAN LE Book Reviewer

You might want to re-phrase that.

4. My degree is in business, I've always been interested in the parachute regiment because of their high standards and fitness. Also I like that 1 para work directly with SF

5. Have you considered something like Royal Signals then going to 18 Signal Regiment (SAS Signals)?

6. Im 30 in November mate and know of people who have joined later than me don't worry age. as long as you are running the mile an half under 9.20 or what ever it is for para's and do well on the rest of the tests age doesn't come in to it.

7. 24 is an ideal age for joining Para Regt. Not too wet behind the ears, a bit maturer and probably less chance of picking up an injury like many of the teenage recruits seem to do. Obviously depends on your physical robustness as well.

Job wise is the same as most other infantry battalions:

Rifleman
    Machine Gunner (50 cal HMG, GPMG(SF)
    Anti tank Gunner (Grenade Machine Gun/Javelin missile)
    Mortarman
    Recce/Patrols Platoon
    Military Transport
    Signaller
    Storeman
    Sniper