Parachute Regiment or Parachute Engineer.

Discussion in 'Join the Army - Regular Officer Recruiting' started by Flying, Jan 16, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi guys, first of all, Hello! As this is my first post of Arrse, although I'v been a long term lurker for many a year. Recently passed AOSB Main Board 2444 in December, and the Board suggested and have now booked me onto the special 11 week Pre-RMAS Course at the Army School of Education in May (due to weak written English) and should be off to Sandhurst in Sept '12!

Basically, I know that I want to be Airborne, and for years I thought I wanted to be in the Parachute Regiment but going in as an Officer I'm curious as to what the Royal Engineers 23 Engineer Regiment (Air Assault) offer specifically. Ideally I want to learn about things that go bang (Demolitions :D) and some additional Civil Engineering skills with my time if I joined the Royal Engineers.

Curious as to how much time a Royal Engineer Officer would spend in an Infantry role? If he was part of 16 Air Assault Brigade?

and does anyone know much about Para assault Pioneer platoon?

All replies welcome the good and the rude!
  2. Hey 'Flying'

Just wanted some hints and tips since you passes AOSB in December, i have an ACA meeting this thursday and then [hopefully] move onto the AOSB Briefing and after that Main Board.

Also what made you choose the Para's as my first three choices and now changed...
  3. If I had to some it up in short, Self Belief. I turned up to my AOSB Mainboard and was told on the morning of the 2cd day I was the youngest by a country mile and the only 1 who didn't A)Have a Degree or B)Was a serving soldier, but in my report they said they were impressed how that didn't faze me.