Para Officer

Hi guys,

I am 26 and currently working offshore as an engineer. I have always wanted to join the paras but for other reasons have had to work close to home. I no longer have this restraint and are keen to apply to the Paras as an officer (with the intention to join the paras...).

Could anyone advise if its a lost cause at my age with no personal contacts in the reg? I have an engineering degree and 3+ years managing high value projects. I have read alot of the forums and it seems those who are selected are usually the following:
1. Under 25
2. Are known by the regiment

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Ravers

LE
Kit Reviewer
Book Reviewer
Not being funny but why would you give up what can potentially be a 6 figure salary to earn under 50k a year in the Paras?

If it’s just for the travel and adventure why not try the Reserves?

Best of both worlds, earn mega bucks as an engineer, but deploy as and when it suits you and shoot guns and jump out of planes and shit.

Hi guys,

I am 26 and currently working offshore as an engineer. I have always wanted to join the paras but for other reasons have had to work close to home. I no longer have this restraint and are keen to apply to the Paras as an officer (with the intention to join the paras...).

Could anyone advise if its a lost cause at my age with no personal contacts in the reg? I have an engineering degree and 3+ years managing high value projects. I have read alot of the forums and it seems those who are selected are usually the following:
1. Under 25
2. Are known by the regiment

Any advice is greatly appreciated.
The fittest bloke in my RMAS intake was right at the upper limit of the RMAS entry criteria, if that is why you're worrying about the age (and fitness).

Not a lost cause at all - but be prepared to join another regiment if you do not get selected by them at Sandhurst. It is competitive to get in.

@The_Duke may be able to assist in advice on the Paras and reservists.