Painting Germans and their colours

I've been modelling and painting for a few years, but recently I have fallen out of the habit. But I have started browsing this forum. I keep seeing people painting groups of Germans, and they invariably don't look quite right to my eye.
They're all very neatly dressed, black boots, in an identical fieldgrey green uniform, and acting with the expected Teutonic efficiency.

Thing is, Field Grey has no set tone. The Germans were shockingly bad at consistent colouration. For Fieldgrau I think this picture sums it up the best:
d22535e4a87864746a9b02b54fecd614.jpg

Most of these tunics are Fieldgrau. Now add in fading and wear over time, and you'll quickly spot that any combination of colours can be, and should be used for German uniforms. I would suspect that the trousers and tunics would be very unlikely to be the same colouration, even when newly issued. So mixing it up on your Germans is likely a good idea. Equally, the ankle boots Germans wore, they were brown in colour.

I'd also note that for panzers, those in the 1942-1944 colour schemes there's a few things to consider.
First the entire tank (including the tracks) were painted Red/brown primer. Then the tanks (minus the tracks) were painted in Dunkelgelb (another variable colour!). Tanks were then shipped to the frontline units, which had cans of paint supplied to apply the camouflage as required by local conditions.
Well, when I say cans of paint, I actually mean cans of pigment. The Pigment was mixed locally with a liquid, petrol was the preferred medium, but I'll bet some unit somewhere used water, or some other thinner at some point! This process, you can see will instantly lead to a massive variety of colours.