p8 medical discharge due to 'funny turn'

Discussion in 'Armed Forces Pension Scheme' started by georgey, Apr 22, 2013.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. This story might freak you out a bit..

I have been a healthy fit soldier for over 6 years, with no major discipline/admin problems. I was top of my game when my chain of command reccommended me for a cadre course.

I invested every ounce of time/energy and even some money into the cadre course and was in the top of third for the week. Unfortunatelly got worked my head a bit too hard and tripped out.

When I came to my senses I thought I'd passed out. But that's when I was informed by MO that I'd had a 'spectacular psychological breakdown.'

after 6 days in an secure MOD MHU I finally returned to normal jogging, but then after months of waiting I was sent to a medical board and told that I was being considered as P8 due there being a small chance of a relapse with very high consequences. I was handed my appendix 10 and told to fill out an FMED 24 and wait for a call from the APC.

The problem is that no one seems to be sure what the state of my condition is, and the army doesn't seem to keen on taking ownership which leaves me wondering if I don't know what my condition is and I don't know how it started then how do I get support and how can I be sure it isn't 'service attributable'

Honest advice would be greatly appreciated!
  2. There are many threads on related subjects, and your next port of call must be your Unit Welfare Officer but.....