Owner Driver opportunities. Beware!!!

Discussion in 'Jobs (Discussion)' started by spudgun67, Apr 7, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am an owner Driver for a company called Cemex. I own my concrete mixer truck, but I am subcontracted to them. This is standard practice for the big companies in this country. At a recent local meeting I bought up the fact that drivers were not making a return on their investment, and the company (who haven't got enough drivers at present!) would lose 25% + over the next 5 years unless the pulled their finger out! The regional Director, one Marcus Rappensberger, said that the company would simply recruit foreigners or ex-servicemen! At which point we drew the meeting to a close and left, thouroughly disgusted. I appreciate that this attitude towards ex-servicemen is nothing new, but these ********* just piss me off and deserve all the bile we can through at them!:pissedoff:

2. Auld-Yin

Auld-Yin LE Reviewer Book Reviewer Reviews Editor

So you have priced yourself out of the market, you looking for sympathy? Drop your prices to the same as those Johnny Foreigners (not allowed to say Piggers or Nakis).

I don't see why ex-servicemen would necessarily be any cheaper other than they may have a more realistic view of life and are not greedy - but on the other hand, reality is .......................

3. So what? I know quite alote of ex-sqauddies that now drive. I even know an ex para that drives big **** off tankers in the US.

Lower your price per hour to a reasonable amount instead of £15+

4. Lots of owner drivers down here, some are dumber than others. You've boxed yourself into a corner getting a concrete mixer truck, not much scope for carrying freight in one of them. Sell it and become more adaptable and not so reliant on one contract. Best of luck.