Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. im 5'8 weight 13 st 6

i would be able to pass all tests at selection run time: 11.12

heaves: 5

press ups and sit ups are fine

however im a chunky monkey

would they reject me because of my weight?

thanks

2. your 28.8 you are just overweight for your size and not obese so considering you can perform should be okay - if anything they will let you crack on with selection and if you pass give you a diet plan and give you a goal to lose before basic.

3. ok sounds good ive been training for 2 months now and have lost round about 6 pounds.

im going for infantry is this still what they would do?

cheers

4. as you train you will start to put on weight as you build muscle.

i believe theres a "fat caliper test" at selection which determines the percentage of body fat.

5. There is a Body fat calliper test during the medical at selection, unsure of the the requirements, my cousin was deffered recently for having too little though. I'm due to go to Litchfield for my selection on the 18th and this is the only thing thats playing on my mind. Don't get me wrong, im in decent shape now but having been a bit rounder in my younger years i'm not sure how a fair!

My BMI is cushty but i think everyone knows that means sod all...

6. When I first went to the careers office and they took all my details etc, arranged my barb test, I was told that I'm a little underweight. That's been playing on my mind ever since. I'm trying to eat more and all but if anything I think I've lost a couple of pounds since.

7. When my cousin got deferred, it was for 3 months (i think), they arranged for him to have some tests because apparently it could be down to thyroid problems. In truth he has always been slim, i think he had a BMI of about 17.9 which is technically unhealthy...