• This is a stand-to for an incoming competition, one of our most expensive yet.
    Later this week we're going to be offering the opportunity to Win £270 Rab Neutrino Pro military down jacket
    Visit the thread at that link above and Watch it to be notified as soon as the competition goes live

Open University

Sorry if this is in the wrong forum - I've just enrolled on T194 Engineering from the OU. Being new to study I have a certain ammount of trepidation, especially as I haven't done advanced maths in over 30 years. Anyone else on these boards done this and any help, guidance or advice is greatly appreciated!

I did the old T195 when I did my degree and even though its got maths in the title of yours I'm sure you'll be fine. The materials I always found to pretty good at leading you and structured plus as well as the course forum you can always ask your tutor.

Good luck with it and if you get the bug, look forward to those warm summer days sat indoors doing a TMA while everyone else is out having fun. Though they do seem to have more winter courses these days.
:)

Im halfway through my Business management degree with the OU, it was a bit of a shock trying to get back in learning and studying for exams. The OU is pretty good though and there is plenty of help and advice, one thing I do advise is find the T195 Facebookgroup, each module I have done has had a group set up by other people on the course and everyone joins, lots of good advice as the course goes on.

Wordsmith

LE
Book Reviewer
It's been years since I did the OU, but I've just done a quick check.

These are the entry requirements: hopefully, you've checked off the preparatory courses first.

T194 | Engineering: Mathematics, Modelling, Applications

It's a half module course, so you're basically in for 20 hours a week study. Figure on several evenings plus the bulk of Sunday.

As mentioned earlier, check out the Facebook group for anyone near to you. Having someone to talk to definitely helps.