Open university during the army

Discussion in 'Education and Resettlement Courses' started by SporkWolf, Aug 29, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Is it possible to take a degree from Open University while working in the army?

Because I've read a few articles on this site and they haven't filled me with a comfotable amount of confidence about life after the army if you have no qualitifications.
  2. Short answer - yes. I got my BSc from the OU while still serving (used all my educational allowances to assist). Before doing anything, plan it out. Look at how many modules you can realistically do each year and how they fit into the degree you want. I worked my bollocks off but also allowed for some down time during holidays etc. Generally it was Mon - Fri 18:00 - 22:30 and a good few hours on the Saturday. You've already realised that you're responsible for how you quantify your skills on the outside, so whatever you decide, good luck!!
  3. Yep, I was doing an OU BA degree, but the Falklands fucked it up and after that my career took a new and very hectic direction so I didn't finish the final year. No matter, the OU courses are very well put together and very worthwhile.
  4. If you can get a posting to Scotland or Wales. Barbaric places I know, but the charges are less. You're looking at £15,000 for a degree now in England.

There are other providers but OU are still pretty much the best in terms of support and courses.

You can take tasters or disparate courses as you wish. Named degrees are available but you can also get a misc course 'open' degree in anything you want.

120 points is a Un year, I'd suggest you start wih 30 to see how you go, no more than 60 per year. Buy an organiser (and insert all your tma dates etc) and buy a brief case or similr to store all your papers, books etc. Particularly if you go on exercise etc.