Open Degree

Discussion in 'Education and Resettlement Courses' started by raymond_luxury_yacht, May 25, 2009.

?
  1. Come back when you've got a proper degree!

23.8%
  2. Come and work for me, clever young sir!

76.2%

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm posting this in the TA forum becuase as a TA soldier myself, I reckon you guys have the most knowlege on civvi employment on arrse.

I'm in the first few months of studying with the Open University. As I have commitments where I live, leaving to attend uni full time was not an option. If that had been an option, I would probably have just joined the regulars instead anyway. But I digress.

I'm looking for people's opinions, civvi employers especially, of Open degrees. Not degrees offered by the OU in general, an Open Degree comprising of many different, and potentially unrelated subjects. Clicky here for a better explaination. I've already had a hard time trying to explain this concept to my employer, the PSAO, my oppos, family...

As I've only just started, I could still use the points that I'm currently earning towards European Studies, for example, but I dont really have enough interest in European languages to study them at the level required for an ES degree.

In a nutshell, I'm interested in my studies, but I'm not interested in enough related stuff to get a "specific" (for want of a better word) degree, making the Open Degree ideal. But do employers see the Open Degree as a bit of a cop out?

2. I'm not uauslly one to bump my own posts, but the eductaion forum as dead as a dead thing.

3. old_fat_and_hairy

old_fat_and_hairy LE Book Reviewer Reviews Editor