online/offline source for medal citations?

Discussion in 'Medals' started by moneyshot, Oct 3, 2011.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I've had a look about but not sure if what I'm looking for exists - is there an official archive of citations for the various awards for military actions?

In this instance I'm looking for MC citations from WWI but is there a general source for citations?

many thanks
  2. thanks. I'm looking for the citation of a Maj James Myles of the Royal Inniskilling Fusiliers & RE. I don't see anything in the London Gazette, or at least can't find it using their search function.

I can get this at the national archives though - The National Archives | DocumentsOnline | Image Details

I've never used this site before - would buying the pdf of the 'medal card' also show the citation(s) for medals awarded?
  3. HHH

HHH LE

4. The MC was announced Gazette Issue 29886 published on the 29 December 1916.

He was a Captain at the time and as you can imagine a lot of MCs were awarded that year so this list goes on and on. Hope this helps!
  5. thanks - as well as list the awarded ranks does the Gazette show citations too or where do I need to go to find this?
  6. I would try his regimental museum.

If they had published all the Medal citations from 1916; the Gazette would have been bigger than the London Telephone directory.

Interesting bloke though Rugby player, Soldier and then a TD for years.

Might also be worth giving the Imperial War Museum a call.
  7. Sometimes you can find the citation at the National Archive, only sometimes though!!
    Also as he was an officer its possible that there might be a mention of him in the War Diary for the unit, the details can vary from "Major Bloggs is a damn fine fella, and did something", to quite a detailed account of the action, it varies considerably.