One from NI: When you are flying over Lough Neagh...

Discussion in 'Aviation' started by Schleswig-Holstein, Sep 15, 2008.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi folks,
    this is going to sound really odd, but here goes. If any of you have either been based at Aldergrove, or have flown over Lough Neagh at night, you might be able to help...

I'm a biologist based at Queen's Uni, and we have a project examining the ducks that migrate to and overwinter on Lough Neagh. As the ducks are in apparent decline, we need to do reliable counts, but the way we used to do it (boat or shore-based counts) are just too bloody slow, and hence this (possibly stupid) question.

I'm not sure if the AAC ever fly at night over the Lough, but if you do, can you pick up the ducks on the surface (either with night vision gear, or visually on a moonlit night)?

Ok, let the slagging begin! :D

2. Have you considered using a 'powered' parachute thinggie. It has a tricycle seat affair suspended (after take off) beneath a customised parachute and has a propeller driven unit pushing it along.

It's relatively low tech, quiet and ideally suited for doing animal/bird censuses from the air. Fairly cheap to run as well. Just a thought.
  3. Getting the PPL costs, though...
  4. Dont bother, they are illegal in UK and I would not recommend spending any amount of time under a paraglider over water. Besides which they are not quiet and the airspaces around Lough Neagh would rule out quite a chunk.

5. Hi all,