"One Army" - Yeah whatever

Discussion in 'Army Reserve' started by tpr_trinny, Mar 5, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Ok so slightly annoyed, I'm a civil servant which means that providing I have the correct insurance I'm allowed to use the local regular army gym. However once I leave the civil service i am no longer entitled to use the gym even though I am a TA soldier and our Sqn does not have any gym eqpt (I doubt any do).

How can they be calling this "one army" when were not even allowed access to the training facilities???

And as for this army fit website whats the point if I have to pay extortionate membership fee's for civvy gyms I mean after all I'm only trying to improve my phys for the army anyway.

bang smack out of order if you ask me, anyone else got any "them and us" gripes?

2. forget about "entitled". have you tried speaking nicely to the PTI staff? sure they would be able to sort something out.

3. Tough shit sweetie

4. yeah tried speaking to the PTI's they were the ones that informed me I wouldnt be able to continue once i leave the civil service.

Polar69 - your extensive use of the english language amazes me.

5. seems a bit jobsworth to me, but it's not my gym. would have thought we would encourage TA soldiers to use the facilities to keep fit.

6. I used a gym at a Barracks near to my home; as mentioned, ask the PITIs nicely with your Army head on ( and MoD 90 to hand? ) and I can think of no reason under the sum why they would not let you use the gym.

7. Funny, a lot of garrison gyms and various MOD places that I've seen only require a civil servant or services ID card, regardless of arm or commitment. Best investigate whatever literature say who can have access. I assume you have an MOD90.