once twice or scrap fired brass wanted

Discussion in 'Shooting, Hunting and Fishing' started by kukooart, Oct 4, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all,
    My name is Kay, i am an artist and i am looking for used once twice or scrap brass casings to use in my latest artwork.
    In my last piece i used 8600 fired once 9mm casings resined onto a board. Now i need more so i can continue.
    If anyone can help in locating large amounts of used brass i would love to here from you.
    Today i have contacted the police and army in a bid to purchase from them instead of them selling or destroying them..
    You may if you wish visit my website to take a look at my artwork, {although none of my artwork containing used brass is on there as it is still a new collection}
    My previous supplier of the casings are no longer an option as i have just returned to the UK from cyprus, where i could get them in abundance.

hope i get to here from you guys soon.

take care all

Kay

Resin artist contemporary resin art

2. ugly

ugly LE Moderator

If you try some of the clubs that have brass bins, NRA Bisley, Wendesbury Marksmen etc you may get lucky!

3. Try Yorkshire, where there's muck there's brass!

4. All the spent brass is recovered though the system and sold for scrap.. most I think goes through Quinetiq at Shoeburyness who run the incinerators..

The people you want to contact are (I think) the light weapons project team at DE & S Abbey Wood..

5. Did they ever used to reload it?

I saw some well dodgy looking boxed RG ball about when I was a sprog, discoloured at the neck.

6. ugly

ugly LE Moderator

Possibly allegedly small mark, ammo that failed the cosmetic QC and was sold at a discount to clubs rather than issued! Sadly some unscrupulous ***** would resell it on as surplus or new and charge tob prices!