Old school clansman washing line antenna

Discussion in 'Weapons, Equipment & Rations' started by ranger7703, Feb 17, 2012.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey all.. Any one out there have any experience with the clansman washing line, I came across one in our signals store and am interested if its any good on bowman radios.

I know we still use the old GSA's so am wondering if this will still work and since I've never used one before I have no idea of range etc on it.

Any help would be great

David

2. You mean the double winder, one side has the coated braid, the other side is 2mm nylon for launching into trees etc?

3. Are you on about The Ground Mounted Monopole?

d_545.jpg

4. Yep the ground mounted monopole.. I just remember people calling it the washing line

5. Great antenna for what is it designed to do. Can be sat on a Landrover bonnet or thrown up on the roof. Easy and quick to deploy and pack away.

But for it's intended purpose of drying socks, it cannot be beaten.

6. Haha.. Must try it on exercise then.. Seems like It can be pretty covert compared to a big mast..

7. I loved it. Even the daftest of Signallers couldn't **** up its deployment.

8. I have never seen that peice of kit in my life, please wait for a technical person to confirm, but I thought negative db attenuated a signal and positve db amplified?? Bog standard half wave dipole was 2.2db

Army Radio Sales Co.

No wonder it was called the washing line, VHF kit though, surely Bowman kit is better than 30 year old crap (I HOPE)

9. But will attaching it to Bowman make the set any less of an abortion?

10. I've found some of the older kit works well with bowman.. Just interested to see if this works, could use something quick and easy-ish to set up on exercise

11. I think you're reading the spec wrong. When it says Gain: 30 MHz -4.5 dB, 76 MHz -1.5 dB it means