Oh dear.

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Friendly_Fire, Sep 9, 2006.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Clocked my 1.5 mile run today for the first time (preparing for medical at end of Sept).

Better run than any to date by me (no walking, etc)... Lousy time though - 12:56.

I knew I was fat and unfit, but didn't know it was this bad! I reckon I could shave a minute or so of the time in the next few weeks. Is more than this achievable by 30 Sept?

Moreover, as I am only striving to be a TA medic (I am a surgeon in civvy street) and not a tooth arm, am I going to make it?

Any ideas?

2. I reckon if you keep runing regularly/daily for the next couple weeks you will have a decent chance of making the time. I've just started exercising to apply for the army and i too am a bit overweight and unfit. I ran a warm up 1.5mile run and timed it at 13:36 which is fairly slow but that was running and walking! I hope to be able to make a decent time within the next few weeks of practicing, so good luck to you too.
  3. There are a few occassions that spring to mind where my stupidity arrives like an epiphany. This morning was one of these times.

When I clocked 12:56, that was the first 1.5 miles of a 2 mile run. I then (as mentioned above) realised with absolute clarity that at the test I will be timed on the last 3/4s of a 2 mile run, not the first 3/4!

So I timed myself this way and am now even more depressed. 14:20. The only redeeming thing about my run today was it was the first time I managed to run 2 miles without walking at all.

I know this fitness test isn't meant to be "too" difficult, but 10 years of inertia is hard to overcome. I cannot conceive of how some of you guys do this in under 9 minutes...

4. Good man. Set those sights, nice and high. Oh wait, you're looking for a get out clause allready. :roll: