Offshore wind farms

Guys, anyone here working offshore, particularly wind-farms. Got my first rotation next week and would be nice to get to know any arrsers with similar backgrounds.

Polyester

Old-Salt
Guys, anyone here working offshore, particularly wind-farms. Got my first rotation next week and would be nice to get to know any arrsers with similar backgrounds.
Hi bogie, I’m a technical instructor for a big utility teaching the wind syllabus. WTSRs, WAH etc etc. I was always onshore as a tech on Siemens and Vestas platforms but we have huge offshore investments on the go so any questions I’ll answer if I can.

NSP

LE
What vessel?

By the by, Cloggie offshore wind paid off my mortgage, courtesy of the Luftwaffe and Kriegsmarine's leavings.

I'd like to thank the Dutch government. Oh, and Adolf, too, who's megalomania made it all possible.

Hey guys, great to hear from you sorry for delay hectic here. Off to Burbo Bank and Extension and then after that Deuthesbank. They're monsters out in Burbo bank, can't get over the size of them!

Polyester

Old-Salt
Burbo bank? Siemens platforms if I mind right. And they aren’t the biggest. Wait until you see a six MW or eventually the 10 that Siemens are building. Absolute monsters. The D6 has three floors in the nacelle. Will you be going up into any of them?

E2A: sorry, didn’t realise Burbo banks extension was completed a couple of years ago! Ha!ha! 8MW I’ve just read? Truly massive machines.

Yup, 8MWs, swept area the size of Wembley Stadium. Should be hell of an experience. The only time I'll be getting off the ship is if it sinks or when it docks! Certainly not climbing those beasts!

Hi bogie, I’m a technical instructor for a big utility teaching the wind syllabus. WTSRs, WAH etc etc. I was always onshore as a tech on Siemens and Vestas platforms but we have huge offshore investments on the go so any questions I’ll answer if I can.
So you’re ARRSE’s resident WAH expert?

Polyester

Old-Salt

Polyester

Old-Salt