Offshore jobs

Discussion in 'REME' started by hobit, Aug 11, 2007.

Welcome to the Army Rumour Service, ARRSE

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial military website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello,
    I'm planning on getting out next year and was hoping to get a job in the oil industry. I am a class 1 Tech.
    What I would like to know is there anyone out there who is a former REME Tech working offshore who could give me some advice on jobs available in this industry?

Cheers

Hob

2. See your PM, hobit.

3. i used to be offshore working on sciesmic surveying ships and it's a good laugh. Clansman (1)? is the last i heard still offshore

4. That's right nessie, still in the offshore game. After a number of years in the hydrographic/construction support sector, have recently returned to the seismic fold.

Now working for CGGVeritas as a Navigation Field Engineer, mainly rigging up new vessels. Good fun, good money!

How about dropping me a line you barsteward!!

5. You got PM.

I have been offshore since leaving the army, wish I had switched over a lot sooner.

6. Would not mind a PM from someone in the know myself, Ex VM(A) currently doing contract work as a mechanical fitter on power stations/ petro chemical / foundries.

been looking at possibly going offshore

thanks in advance

7. To be honest, with that sort of experience behind you I dont think you will struggle to get offshore work.